January 23, 2021

‘Aswang’ wins FAMAS 2020 best picture; Elijah Canlas, Janine Gutierrez, Kristofer King earn top acting awards


(L-R) Elijah Canlas, Janine Gutierrez and Kristofer King (posthumous) win top acting awards in FAMAS 2020. Image: YouTube/PÖFF/QCinema International Film Festival/Solar Pictures

“Aswang,” a documentary film that explores the Duterte administration’s war on drugs, won the FAMAS 2020 Best Picture award in an online ceremony Sunday evening, Dec. 20.

Top acting honors went to Janine Gutierrez as Best Actress for “Babae at Baril,” and Elijah Canlas for “Kalel, 15” and Kristofer King (posthumous) for “Verdict,” in a tie as Best Actor.

Special honors were also given to actresses Angel Locsin and Liza Soberano, scriptwriter Ricky Lee, and TV host Boy Abunda, among others.

Here is the full list of the FAMAS Awards 2020 winners:

Best picture: “Aswang”
Best actress: Janine Gutierrez for “Babae at Baril”
Best actor: Elijah Canlas for “Kalel, 15” and Kristofer King for “Verdict”
Best supporting actress: Dolly de Leon for “Verdict”
Best supporting actor: Ricky Davao for “Fuccbois”
Best director: Raymund Bibay Gutierrez for “Verdict”
Best documentary: “Aswang”
Best short film: “Tokwifi”
Best screenplay: Glenn Barit for “Cleaners”
Best cinematography: Alyx Arumpac and Tanya Haurylchyk for “Aswang”
Best editing: Fatima Bianchi and Anne Fabini for “Aswang”
Best musical score: Nerrika Salim and Immanuel Verona for “Babae at Baril”
Best sound: Jet Leyco and Brian Gonzales for “My Alien Friend”
Best production design: Eero Yves Francisco for “Babae at Baril”
Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award: Angel Locsin
German Moreno Youth Achievement Award: Liza Soberano and Matteo Guidicelli
Dolphy King of Comedy Award: Pokwang
Dr. Jose Vera Perez Memorial Award: Boy Abunda
FAMAS 2020 Advocacy Directing Award: Neil “Buboy” Tan
FAMAS Lifetime Achievement Awardees: Ricky Lee (scriptwriting), Rox Lee (alternative cinema) and Armida Siguion-Reyna (industry development)

The FAMAS (Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences) Awards is known to be one of the oldest film industry awards in Asia. This year’s ceremony was hosted by Jasmine Curtis-Smith and Christian Bables. NVG


‘Kalel, 15,’ ‘Aswang,’ and ‘Babae at Baril’ lead FAMAS best picture nominations

Janine Gutierrez and Elijah Canlas win best actress, actor in Gawad Urian 2020

Read Next

Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Source link